“On Being White,” by Marilyn Frye

[B]eing white-skinned means that everything I do will be wrong–at the least an exercise of unwarranted privilege–and I will encounter the reasonable anger of women of color at every turn … as a white person one must never claim not to be racist, but only to be anti-racist. The reasoning is that racism is so systematic and white privilege so impossible to escape, that one is, simply, trapped … I have enjoined males of my acquaintance to set themselves against masculinity … Likewise I can set myself against Whiteness.

Frye, Marilyn. “On Being White.” The Politics of Reality: Essays in Feminist Theory. 1983. Freedom, CA: The Crossing Press, pp. 126-7. Via Amy.

Leave a Reply

